Skate Canada Recognizes Outstanding Volunteers in Vancouver

May 31, 2012 | Skate Canada Press Release




Skate Canada Recognizes Outstanding Volunteers in Vancouver

OTTAWA, ON: Skate Canada announced a number of award winners over the weekend at its Annual Convention and General Meeting (ACGM) in Vancouver, British Columbia.

The recipients were presented with their awards at the Saturday night at the annual awards gala. The winners received their awards from various presenters, including, World Champion Patrick Chan, Canadian silver medalists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, Canadian Champion Amélie Lacoste, Canadian Pair Champions Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford and NEXXICE team caption Nichole Manahan.

The Skate Canada National Award Program honours dedicated members of the skating community who have donated their time to help contribute to improving the quality of skating in Canada.

The 2011-2012 recipients are:

·         Skate Canada Club and Recreation Coach Award of Excellence

Lynnell Moss, Airdrie Skating Club, Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section

·         Skate Canada Competitive Coach Award of Excellence

Richard Gauthier, CPA St-Léonard, Quebec Section

·         Skate Canada Officials Award of Excellence

Laura Carr, Kelowna Figure Skating Club, British Columbia/Yukon Section

·         Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award

Kathy Mackowski, Kitchener-Waterloo SC, Western Ontario Section

·         Skate Canada CanSkater of the Year Award

Jason Tran, Gloucester Skating Club, Eastern Ontario Section


Skate Canada also presents a volunteer award to one member of each of the 13 Skate Canada sections. The following outstanding volunteers have been awarded the 2011-2012 Skate Canada Volunteer Award of Excellence:


·         British Columbia/Yukon Section

Janice Hunter, Hollyburn Country Club

·         Alberta/NWT/Nunavut Section
Cathy Sahaluk , Calalta Figure Skating Club

·         Saskatchewan Section

Marilyn McEwen, Skate Regina

·         Manitoba Section

Don Brown, East St. Paul Skating Club

·         Northern Ontario Section
Susan Fisher, North Bay Figure Skating Club

·         Western Ontario Section

Doris Adams, Thorold Figure Skating Club

·         Central Ontario Section

Jim Livingston, Thornhill Figure Skating Club

·         Eastern Ontario Section

Janice Armitage, Skate Kingston

·       Quebec Section

Marina Capistran, CPA Rosemont

·        New Brunswick Section

Dawn Tabor, Sussex Skating Club

·         Prince Edward Island Section

Michelle Neill, Charlottetown Figure Skating Club

·         Nova Scotia Section

Joanne Byrne, Dartmouth SC

·         Newfoundland/Labrador Section

Joyce Martin-Stuckless, Island Blades Figure Skating Club


Two additional awards were given out to the home section in the STARSkate and competitive athlete area, as representatives of those categories. 

·         Skate Canada STARSkate Athlete Award (REPRESENTATIVE)

Caitlin Jarvis, Sunshine Coast Skating Club, British Columbia/Yukon Section

·         Skate Canada Competitive Skate Athlete Award (REPRESENTATIVE)

Nam Nguyen, North Shore Winter Club, British Columbia/Yukon Section


2019 [5] 2018 [3] 2017 [3] 2016 [2] 2015 [3] 2014 [10] 2013 [17] 2012 [31]
December [3] November [5] October [2] September [1] August [3] June [1] May [2]
• Skate Canada Recognizes Outstanding Volunteers in Vancouver
Abbotsford Skating Club Summer School news
April [2] March [7] February [3] January [2]
2011 [19] 2010 [3]